Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home Directory Departments H-Z Planning & Inspections Historic Preservation Districts

Historic Preservation Districts

Staunton has a wealth of distinctive architecture.  From the late 18th century through the early 20th century, Staunton residents created a rich tapestry of buildings in neighborhoods and commercial centers throughout the city.

The result of this historical development is an important architectural legacy.  To help preserve this valuable resource for the generations to come, the city created five historic districts: Gospel Hill, Beverley, The Wharf, Stuart Addition, and Newtown

Repairs and modifications to the homes, buildings, fences, walls, and other site details in these areas are regulated by Section 18.85, Historic Preservation District of the Staunton City Code. If you own property in one of these districts, you need to be familiar with the regulations included in Section 18.85 of the City Code, 1996 Residential Historic District Design Guidelines and The Secretary of the Interior Illustrated Guidelines for Rehabilitating Historic Buildings  The   Secretary of the Interior Guidelines apply to both residential and commercial property located within the Historic Preservation Districts.


The Historic Staunton Foundation, a non-profit organization promoting the preservation and revitalization of the architectural and historic resources in the City, sponsors several programs and services supporting Staunton's Historic Preservation Districts.  Programs include on going walking tours and preservation programs as well as preservation services for residents, business owners, and developers.

Document Actions
Personal tools
Log in